Bugles

This week sees the first Monday of the month so as usual the challenge on I am the Diva is a ‘Use My Tangle challenge’.  The tangle is by Joyce Evans and it’s called Bugles – the step outs are HERE.

This one is new to me and I haven’t developed it beyond the way that Joyce shows us in her post.  I love to use Laced String and decided to actually use it as my string for this tangle. This week I remembered to take a picture before I shaded so that I could study the difference.

001

No shading, looks clean and tidy.

002

Shading with a pencil, much better, adds depth.  Finished.  Went to bed!

3

A new day.  Decided to darken the shadows and go one step further and add a little colour!

After looking at all three photos I concluded that I like the darker shading but that in this instance the colour didn’t actually improve it.  Note to self: learn when to stop!

Thanks for looking.  If you haven’t already done so I recommend that you check out the other tangles for this challenge.  I haven’t looked yet but I know they’ll be briliant.

TTFN

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Zentangle. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Bugles

  1. Saffi says:

    Beautiful tile. And your before and after shading pictures are brilliant – I really struggle with shading and studying these has taught me a lot. Thanks!

    • lmb838 says:

      Thank you Saffi, I struggled a bit at first but kept looking at how others did it. Now I enjoy shading as much as doing the tangles 🙂

  2. Aw, the color is great! (And you only added one color – that is restraint right there.) I love the progression and your tile is lovely in each one. Definitely the biggest “improvement” between unshaded and shaded.

  3. It looks amazing with the shading and that little hint of color!

  4. Jean Chaney says:

    I absolutely love anything laced or goes in and out of the tile. Shading is a definite necessity, I believe, to having a completed tangle. I do like the touch of red though. I don’t think you ruined it at all 🙂

  5. allonestring says:

    I know what you mean about knowing when to stop – for me it’s two or three step before I do. I think that your touches of red are so delicate that they don’t spoil it at all. Wonderful!

  6. melba982074678 says:

    Your wonderful shading really brought your tile to life! Thanks for sharing the transitions.

  7. Katie C says:

    Beautiful! I love seeing the evolution of the tile with the various levels of shading!

  8. I love the coloured shading, your work is so neat and crisp, the colour is like a whisp of flavour. I’ll have the strawberry tile, with cream please 🙂

  9. Joyce Evans says:

    Thank you for using my tangle, Bugles. That is great to show the progression of your work. I like your use of shading and the colour. A good choice of tangles too.

  10. Lily says:

    Beautiful 🙂

  11. David Hunter says:

    A beautiful answer to the challenge with added value. Very creative. I love it.

  12. I love the slight addition of color.

  13. Omer says:

    Nicely done. And thank you for sharing the steps. When I saw the tile with the shading I said “aha”, then I saw the colored one and said “ahaaaaa” 🙂
    I liked how you combined the patterns, and the addition of color added a beautiful touch

Leave a Reply

