One little word for 2014

The challenge this week over on I am the diva’s blog is to incorporate one little word for this year into a tangle.  I struggled to think of one word initially because my immediate thought was ‘new horizons’ and then I couldn’t get those two words out of my head.

I have lots of hobbies but apart from gardening, they all lead to me sitting on my rear-end to do them.  So my plan for 2014 is to pick up a new hobby which gets me up and about.  A new camera for Christmas to replace my hand-me-down one which was on its last legs, has inspired me to get out and take photographs.

So my word is Inspiration……..

  • ‘arousal of the mind to special unusual activity or creativity’
  • ‘a product of your creative thinking and work’

 5

I used tangles which I hadn’t drawn before because that fitted in with this whole message.

Whilst I was in the mood I also did a tangle around ‘new horizons’.  Here I tried to depict a horizon between the steps forward and new growth.

4

Thanks for looking.

Linda

 

 

This entry was posted in Zentangle. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to One little word for 2014

  1. AnnH says:

    Brilliant Linda love them Ann x

  2. Annie says:

    Great word, Linda. Mine was similiar – inspire – but it definitely includes inspiration. Both your tiles are lovely. Zentangle inspires new horizons! Axxx

  3. Annemarie says:

    Yes, it’s a good word to have for the year. Your tile is beautiful!

  4. Jean Chaney says:

    I like them both, but I am particularly drawn to the New Horizon one where you move from structured into free flowing. I can see why you couldn’t get it out of your head!

  5. lmb838 says:

    Thanks Jean, I do find the structured tangles come more easily. My brain wants symmetry, I think that’s why maths was my best subject at school!

  6. I absolutely love everything I have see tangled by you, Linda. I especially love the colors you use in your work (maybe it’s the pasteliness, if you don’t mind me making up words as I go, that brings “feminine” to mind when studying your efforts), but the shading and perspective of the New Horizons piece is top notch and elevates this ZIA into my short list of ATFs. I’m pinning this one immediately!

    • lmb838 says:

      Thank you for your kind words Kate, I’m glad you like my tangles. As for colours I bought some wax pastels recently and keep looking for projects to use them on because I just love using them!

Leave a Reply

