Monday’s trial

I saw a card from a Norwegian blog by a lady called Wenche.  This link takes you to the card.  I decided I would like to try making this shape of card so I hit the ‘translate button’ and found out that Wenche had followed a tutorial on a blog written by a Swedish lady called Tesa.  This link takes you to that blog.

I spent some time using Google Translate to work my way through Tesa’s instructions, because although she has put some brilliant pictures on, I wanted to know paper size etc.

Tesa used a 20.5cm square of paper but after I had done a few trials with scrap, I decided to use a 10.25inch square so that I could use Martha Stewart punches to punch around the page.  Tesa had left the edges of her paper straight and attached punched strips, but I liked the way that Wenche appeared to have used a punch.

This is my final card….

004

I used a double-sided paper from a pad which I bought last year in Wal-Mart.  The paper needs to be double-sided as after folding you can always see both sides from whichever way you look at the card.  I cut triangles from the opposite side to stick on to the corners.

The image is a Lili of the Valley one from my Just for Girls sketch pad.  I coloured it with ProMarkers.  It tucks neatly into the corner folds.

The card with the image slips out to reveal the inside…..

005

I added a piece of plain card so that I could stamp a greeting…..

006

On the back, the folds create a little pocket and I made a small tag so that it could be used to add a message, in the way that Wenche had done….

007

I cut rectangles from the opposite side of the paper to stick on to add more interest.

I enjoyed following the inspiration of these two Scandinavian bloggers and hope I did them both justice.

Thanks for looking.

Linda

This entry was posted in Cardcraft and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday’s trial

  1. AnnH says:

    Lovely card Linda and it is really different. Ann x

    • lmb838 says:

      Thanks Ann, I really enjoyed the challenge of translating first and have had a lovely comment from Tesa, one of the Scandinavian bloggers.

  2. Tesa says:

    Hi, nice of you to notice me:) Really beautiful card❤
    This is a fold that I came up with myself. It’s called Tesavikning in Swedish. Wenche have followed me a long time and asked me if she could do a tutorial for the magazine Ett Trykk and of course she got my permission:) Thanks again! Take care! Tesa

Leave a Reply

